Here are some of the most frequently asked weed delivery questions + answers in Boston, MA.
Yup. Both recreational + medical weed is legal in Beantown. Massachusetts went fully legal in 2016 after legalizing weed for recreational consumption for people 21 + over. Medical cannabis was passed in 2012. And, even more important, you're free to purchase + use weed in any neighborhood in Boston, including: Allston, Brighton, Back Bay, Bay Village, Beacon Hill, Downtown Charlestown, Chestnut Hill, Chinatown (Leather District), Dorchester + Mid-Dorchester, Fenway-Kenmore, Hyde Park Roxbury + West Roxbury, Roslindale, Jamaica Plain, Mattapan, Mission Hill, South Boston South, West, + North End, The Wharf District. While weed is legal throughout Boston, keep your broccoli consumption under wraps. Boston's laws state cannabis can only be vaped, smoked, or consumed privately, which means no consumption in parks, restaurants, bars, or other public places. Also, check with your landlord if you don't own the place you sleep. Property owners have the option to make their rentals smoke-free.
Yes. Boston opted-in to allow weed delivery throughout the city + all of its neighborhoods. There are a few caveats, however. One, you can only have weed delivered between the hours of 8 am - 9 pm. Weed can only be delivered to homes, condos, or apartments, or, in other words, private residences only (no dorms, hotels, public housing, or other publicly-owned spaces). Any consumer who orders for delivery from Lantern must be 21 or over. Also, you can't meet your driver at the delivery vehicle for pickup, no matter how anxious you may be to get your weed vape/edible/flower.
Both order minimums and delivery fees are determined by our dispensary partners and delivery couriers. Why? This helps offset the costs associated with delivery. These can vary by city and consumer location. Currently, delivery fees in Massachusetts range from $0–$10 per order based on distance from the dispensary.
Products sold through Lantern are never marked up – you get to shop the same prices as in-store. Whether you're purchasing in-store or ordering delivery, cannabis products are taxed at 20% in the state of Massachusetts.
The purchase limits for delivery in Massachusetts are the same as in-store. You can buy one ounce of flower, five grams of concentrate or products containing up to 100mg, per day.
Per Massachusetts law, only home deliveries are allowed; deliveries to dorms, hotels, and/or subsidized housing is not permitted.
You can schedule a delivery up to 24 hours in advance. Hours of operation may vary by dispensary but typically range from 11 am–9 pm daily, with the option to schedule same-day and next-day delivery if you're ordering outside of live delivery hours.
No, you do not need a medical card. A medical ID is required to purchase products labeled for medicinal purposes.